The Fleet of Training Boats

6 Pittwater Junior Dinghies
9 Manly Junior Dinghies
1 Heron Dinghy
1 de Havilland Vagabond Dinghy
2 Laser Sailboats with Standard Rig (sail can be reefed to 3/4 or 1/2 size)
1 Swiffie 10 Dinghy

Program, Calendar and Dates

Please click  DRAFT 2017-18 Program  for a copy of the program in PDF.

Jump to DRAFT Program Table (below)


Description of the current program - see the Newsletter

The School Group Sailing Training runs in two sessions during Spring and Autumn each year. Young people enjoy the introduction to the joys of sailing in a closely supervised and safe environment

Volunteer Trainers


The Learn-to-Sail classes are run by very experienced volunteers who have vast experience with sailing and yachts.

Many of them have their own yachts and sail in local races. All volunteers have Working With Children NSW Accreditation.

The fees for classes at Callala Junior Sailing School are very low because of the use of volunteers for all training. Sponsorship is also very important for supporting the club and its fleets of training vessels.

Volunteers

Callala Bay Junior Sailing Club volunteers Michael Kielly, Ron Clapham, Michael Chlopicki and Jennifer Lay battling with weed in 2010. Source: DANIEL PIOTROWSKI; South Coast Register.

Learn-to-Sail Program

The learn-to-sail program runs from Spring to summer with a break over the Christmas school holidays. There are groups for novices and more experienced students.

School Program

The school program is run in Spring and Summer, currently with 20 primary students from Callala Public School during each session.

Callala Bay Junior Sailing School - 2017/2018 Calendar - DRAFT


Date

Event

Sat, 23 Sep 17

Open Day/ Registration

Sat, 30 Sep 17

No School - JBSC October Regatta

Sun, 1 Oct 17

No School - JBSC October Regatta

Sat, 7 Oct 17

Spring Sailing School Begins

Sat, 14 Oct 17

Sailing School

Sat, 21 Oct 17

Sailing School

Sat, 28 Oct 17

Sailing School

Sat, 4 Nov 17

Sailing School

Sat, 11 Nov 17

Sailing School

Sat, 18 Nov 17

Sailing School

Sat, 25 Nov 17

Sailing School

Sat, 2 Dec 17

Sailing School

Sat, 9 Dec 17

Sailing School

Sat, 16 Dec 17

Sailing School, Christmas BBQ

Summer Break

No School Over Christmas

Summer Break

No School in January

Sat, 3 Feb 18

Summer Sailing School Begins

Sat, 10 Feb 18

Sailing School

Sat, 17 Feb 18

Sailing School

Sat, 24 Feb 18

Sailing School

Sat, 3 Mar 18

Sailing School

Sat, 10 Mar 18

Sailing School

Sat, 17 Mar 18

Sailing School

Sat, 24 Mar 18

Sailing School

Sat, 31 Mar 18

No Sailing School Easter Break

Sat, 7 Apr 18

School Ends, BBQ for End of Year